To the men and women of our generation.

Why do people and my friends have to be the minority of society simply because we chose to not only spare ourselves of the baggage that worldliness likes to leave behind?

Why has my view on relationship evolved into wanting to remain single than to date a guy who didn’t honor and agree with my belief on the topic?

Why does it feel like no one else cares about what is eating me alive?

Why are we remaining stagnant and not willing to change our ways?

Dear Men and Women of my generation,

As an early twenty-something who attends a secular, might I add liberal, university and working in the retail industry for a little over four months, I have began to take notice of a very disturbing trend. A trend that breaks my heart.

It’s the trend of pushing values aside, or better yet, “waiting for the one right thing that upholds to our standards,”  and engaging in the moment of “now” to fulfill temporary satisfactions. So many time I have customers tell me to “Wait as long as I can to have babies and get married,” while media and society tells me to “engage in sex now and get it over with.”

If I am being honest with you, and more importantly, myself, I began to realize something. It hurts. Its upsetting to be encouraged to do what I want to do now, but put off  the marriage and babies part until another time, but it is totally okay to go sleep with a guy, or multiple guys.

In a generation of looseness and lack of morals, I still believe in waiting til marriage. And it’s not because it is the opposite of what society says i should do, it is not even a rebellious state of mind.

Its because having sex is one of the most sacred things one will do with another human being. And I don’t want it to lose its sacredness simply because I can’t wait and have to do it now. It’s like opening a Birthday present without waiting until my Birthday. The appeal is simply not the same because I couldn’t avoid the temptation just a couple of more months or weeks. I couldn’t have waited.

How could I forsake the sacredness and unity of something God designed to be so special for a life of selfishness and frivolity?

How could I open a door of emotions that are painful, dark, or even heartbreaking, simply because I wanted to be with that “one person.”

How could I take something sacred and turn it into a game, a hobby, or a way to pass the time?

How can I allow myself destroy something into the darkness?

We have created an image of love that contradicts what the Word of God has stated it to be. We have filled our generations’ mind with images of Nicholas Sparks-esque romances to base our relationships on.

But what about the kind of love that requires us to unselfishly choose the highest good of another before our own good?

What happened to the kind of relationships where a man and woman have to fully surrender and depend on the Lord for all aspects of the live?

Why has our generation given up love for a idea of love that is fulfilling, and quite honestly, draining?

Why do people and my friends have to be the minority of society simply because we chose to not only spare ourselves of the baggage that worldliness likes to leave behind?

Why has my view on relationship evolved into wanting to remain single than to date a guy who didn’t honor and agree with my belief on the topic?

Why does it feel like no one else cares about what is eating me alive?

Why are we remaining stagnant and not willing to change our ways?

So as a final note regarding waiting until the right time, please don’t tell me to wait but tell me to fulfill my selfish ways at the same time. Please don’t tell me that waiting is so much better… Its such a contradiction and frustration. Please don’t make your children seem like a burden. They are a gift from God and should be cherished for the blessings that they are.

Please think about the legacy you are leaving behind for future generations. What kind of society do you want your kids and grand-kids and great-grandchildren living in? Is it worth the corruption of the future to settle for temporary satisfactions of today? Is it truly worth it?

Leave a Reply

