A Texan in Germany…. The beginnings.

Note, this is a repost from a blog I wrote the day I decided that I was going to Germany.

Over the summer, God had been putting dreams of going to a place that I have dreamed about going to since I was a little girl. Being a History geek since I could read, I have maintained this bizarre fascination of Germany. As I grew older and developed into the bookworm and researcher that I am at this current place in my life, I began to read more about Germany, World Wars, and anything else relating to the two topics. I developed a desire, a hunger to stand in the places that I had simply read about in books and watched in movies. To dwell on the circumstances on which the world had evolved into.

I can’t place the day or time that I learned about a man named Dietrich Bonhoeffer,  but life hasn’t been the same since. Bonhoeffer, a theologian and martyr from Germany, spent his life preaching and being a vessel of Jesus during a time where Jesus was something that was forgotten in the midst of power and control. But as I read a biography about the times in which Bonhoeffer lived, I began to fall in love with a place that I have never even set foot in.

Travelling is something I said I have always wanted to do. But I always figured it would be something that I pursued once I got married, and had the money to do the travelling. But God wants to use us in areas that we NEVER dream of doing. I never in a million years dreamed that a childhood love would develop into something that I carry with me to this day,  something God would evolve and transform in my life. I can recollect saying only years ago that I would “never go on a mission trip.” But he changes our hearts as we walk more in line with him and discover Him for who He is and not the world tells us He is.

I don’t have alot going for me right now. I work a minimum wage job with minimum hours, never been on a mission trip, or any church trip for that matter, and I am one of the most flakiest people you will ever meet. I could go on with a list of every reason why I am inadequate to begin the process of a Heaven-inspired journey.

But I have God reviving a dream that had been forgotten about and cast aside.

I love and serve a God who provides and carries us onto the path that He has chosen for me.

He is showing me that every inadequacy I may feel is an opportunity for Him to work through me and to bring all the glory back to Him.

I can’t say no to the offer that he has placed at my feet.
I can’t say no to dreams and a passion developing deep with me more and more every day.
I can’t flake out and turn my back on God like every other time in my life.

He wants to move. No, let me rephrase that, He is DESPERATE to move.

Will you join me in prayer about my Deutschland journey?

God’s so ready to move through all that take the first step in this direction, we simply need to prepare to become vessels of His grace and love.

Katie.

“What no eye has seen,
    what no ear has heard,
and what no human mind has conceived
    the things God has prepared for those who love him—
-1 Corinthians 2:9New International Version (NIV)
Leave a Reply

